Company history

Kinome means “eye of the tree” in Japanese.
Nature and its huge open-air research laboratory inspire Kinome. It helps us to identify solutions to the problems of our time. That is a natural idea, since trees lived through 380 million years of evolution, against just one million years for humans.

Kinomé also means “bud” in Japanese. It is part of the budding of a new economy that gives natural resources – especially trees – their full and deserved place. A budding new way in education, reconnecting children (and their parents) with nature.

The Founder

nicolasKinome was founded in 2005 by Nicolas Métro.
For 20 years he worked for big corporations in France and abroad, holding marketing and general management positions.
In 2005, when following a Master program for the Development of Ethical Leadership with the firm Research & Evolution, he “reconnected with his family DNA”. Or he went “back to his roots”, you could say, since both his grandfathers were foresters. Nicolas then decided to devote himself to the forest. From the start his ambition was clear: make the tree a valuable solution in development and spread this idea to the greatest number, to reverse the trend of deforestation.
Kinomé is a company whose mission is of general interest: it is a “social business” or “business with a societal vocation.”

The company

  1. Since 2005, Kinomé has a highly skilled and committed multidisciplinary team, allowing it to diversify its activities and deploy projects on five continents.
  2. After obtaining the status of Young Innovative Company (Jeune Entreprise Innovante (JEI) in 2007, Kinome was recognized by the Ethic’Evolution© label and became a member of the Ashoka network, a network of more than 3,000 social entrepreneurs worldwide.
  3. Kinomé runs a network of 200 people involved in the projects it pilots. It also coordinates the international reforestation movement Forest&Life with over 10,000 members, from individuals to international institutions and businesses through NGOs, scientists and schools.
  4. And Kinomé is involved in the Laboratory of Excellence or Labex BASC (Biodiversity, Agrosystems, Society, Climate), with 500 scientists working in 13 laboratories, in collaboration with major groups and SMEs.

Biomimetics, the origin of Kinomé

The concept biomimetics or of biomimicry consists in “artificially reproducing the essential properties of one or more biological systems.” There are many examples, from the lotus leaf inspiring self-cleaning surfaces, from the termitary inspiring buildings able to autoregulate their inside temperature. Biomimicry is at the origin of Kinomé. It means “eye of the tree” in Japanese, so our approach is truly rooted in the observation, study and appreciation of the forest.

 

At Kinome, biomimetics play a key role in several ways.

Our multi-partner approach, braking with the traditional silos of reforestation (eg. farmers against foresters, environment against economy). It is directly inspired by the great partnerships set up by the trees over the millennia. The symbiotic association of mycorrhiza, the mycelium of a fungus, with tree roots is a good illustration. They prolong the roots, to help them pump up water from deeper under the surface, in exchange for sugar produced by the roots.

Our approach to de-multiplication, based on the reproduction of what works while enriching what we do not yet know, through research and ongoing exchange. It draws on tree reproduction, both sexual (to mix the DNA and adapt to a changing environment without moving) and asexual (to ensure large-scale reproduction in difficult conditions). This approach is also at the base of the international reforestation movement Forest & Life created by Kinome in 2010.

Les grandes étapes de l'entreprise

Kinomé signifie “l’œil de l’arbre” en japonais : Kinomé s’inspire de la nature et de son immense laboratoire de recherche à ciel ouvert (380 millions d’années d’évolution pour les arbres, contre à peine 1 million pour les humains) pour identifier des solutions aux problèmes de notre temps.

Kinomé signifie aussi “bourgeon” en japonais : Bourgeon d’une économie nouvelle qui donne leur pleine et entière place aux ressources naturelles et à l’arbre en particulier. Bourgeon également d’une éducation qui reconnecte les enfants (et leurs parents) à la nature.

Le fondateur

nicolasKinomé a été fondé en 2005 par Nicolas Métro.

Il a travaillé 20 ans dans des grands groupes en France et à l’étranger à des postes de marketing puis de direction générale. En 2005, alors qu’il suit le Master pour le Développement du Leadership Ethique avec le cabinet Recherches & Evolution, il se “reconnecte avec son ADN familial” (ses deux grand-pères étaient forestiers) et décide de se consacrer à la forêt. Avec une vision simple : Faire de l’arbre une solution de développement et le faire comprendre au plus grand nombre, pour inverser la tendance de déforestation.

Kinomé est une entreprise dont la mission est d’intérêt général : c’est un « social business » ou « entreprise à vocation sociale ».

Les grandes étapes

  1. Depuis 2005, Kinomé s’est dotée d’une équipe pluridisciplinaire hautement qualifiée et engagée, qui a permis de diversifier ses activités et de les déployer sur les 5 continents.
  2. En 2007, après avoir obtenu le statut de Jeune Entreprise Innovante (JEI), Kinomé est désormais reconnue par le label Ethic’Evolution© et membre du réseau Ashoka, réseau regroupant plus de 3000 entrepreneurs sociaux dans le monde.
  3. Kinomé anime un réseau de 200 personnes impliquées dans les projets qu’elle pilote, et coordonne le mouvement international de reforestation Forest&Life réunissant plus de 10000 membres.
  4. Kinomé intervient aussi dans le Laboratoire d’excellence ou Labex BASC (Biodiversité, Agrosystèmes, Société, Climat) qui fait travailler 500 scientifiques dans 13 laboratoires, en collaboration avec des grands groupes et des PME.

Et à l’origine de Kinomé … le Biomimétisme

Le concept du biomimétisme consiste à “reproduire artificiellement des propriétés essentielles d’un ou plusieurs systèmes biologiques”. De la feuille de lotus aux surfaces autonettoyantes, des termitières aux bâtiments capables d’autoréguler sa température intérieur, les exemples sont nombreux. Le Biomimétisme est à l’origine même de Kinomé qui signifie “l’oeil de l’arbre” en japonais, tant notre approche est ancrée dans l’observation, l’étude et la valorisation de la forêt.

 

Concrètement, le biomimétisme se retrouve dans :

Notre approche multi-partenariale, qui casse les silos traditionnels de la reforestation (ex : agriculteurs contre sylviculteurs, environnement contre économie) pour s’inspirer directement des partenariats géniaux mis en place par les arbres au fil des millénaires. Les champignons mycorhiziens prologeant les racines des arbres pour les aider à pomper de l’eau plus en profondeur en échange des sucres produits par celles-ci, en sont une bonne illustration.

Notre approche de la démultiplication, basée sur la reproduction de ce qui fonctionne tout en l’enrichissant de ce que nous ne connaissons pas encore, grâce à la recherche et à l’échange permanent. Elle s’inspire de la reproduction des arbres, à la fois sexuée (pour mélanger les ADN et s’adapter à l’environnement changeant sans bouger), et asexuée (pour assurer la reproduction à grande échelle dans des conditions difficiles). Cette approche est par ailleurs fondatrice du mouvement international de reforestation Forest&Life crée par Kinomé en 2010.