17 June 2021
SUPPORT FOR CAPACITY BUILDING IN THE MONITORING AND IMPLEMENTATION OF THE NATIONALLY DETERMINED CONTRIBUTION IN CAMEROON

Located in Central Africa, Cameroon has a wealth of natural resources thanks to its significant agro-climatic diversity, ranging from large forest areas in the south to very arid Sahelian zones near the Chadian border. Nicknamed “Africa in miniature “1 because of this great diversity, Cameroon is no exception and is currently experiencing the adverse effects of climate change: rising water levels, drought, storms, floods and heavy rains…

 

The Government of Cameroon is committed to supporting efforts to combat climate change in its national development strategies. In 2016, as part of the Paris Agreement, Cameroon committed to reducing its carbon footprint by 32% by 2035 and developed its Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC). In 2020, Cameroon formulated its National Development Strategy 2020-2030 (NDS30) which intends to further integrate climate change concerns into sectoral strategies and policies.

 

Since institutional governance is essential for the successful implementation of climate initiatives and strategies, one of the main challenges in ensuring the effective implementation of the NDC is to harmonize and strengthen the national institutional implementation mechanism by clarifying the roles and responsibilities of each body and by ensuring consistency between the various initiatives.

 

With this in mind, Expertise France recruited the Kinomé-Baastel consortium as part of the Adapt’Action facility launched in 2017 through which Agence Française de Développement (AFD) and Expertise France are supporting 15 countries and regional organizations that are particularly vulnerable to the impacts of climate disruption in implementing their adaptation strategies.

 

In the first phase of this support, Kinomé-Baastel conducted a series of interviews with the stakeholders of the national framework of dialogue on climate change (ministerial executives, focal points, research centers, civil society organizations…) in order to produce a “Report on the identification of strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats of the existing institutional mechanism and recommendations for the follow-up of climate processes”.  This document presents a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats) of the institutional mechanism and proposes recommendations for monitoring climate processes.

 

The results presented in this report need to be discussed and validated by the concerned stakeholders and technical and financial partners. On June 9th, Damien Kuhn, Kinomé’s international operations manager, went to Cameroon in order to (i) present, in team with the national consultants, the analysis report of the existing institutional framework and the recommendations that were made in order to improve the monitoring of the climate processes and (ii) discuss and enrich the analysis of the framework and the recommendations to improve the climate processes by the stakeholders.

 

This workshop, which brought together about 50 people (sectoral ministries, focal points, civil society organizations, TFPs, etc.), made it possible to enrich the analysis of the institutional framework and to clarify the roles of each stakeholder. This workshop will be enriched next week by co-construction meetings so that the team of consultants can propose a coherent and harmonized institutional mechanism for the monitoring and implementation of the NDCs, specifying the role and responsibilities of each stakeholder, as well as the inter-institutional operating procedures. This proposed institutional arrangement will then be presented at a validation workshop for the attention of Expertise France and the main stakeholders.

@Kinomé 2021 : Yaoundé, Cameroun

 

@Kinomé 2021 :  workshop to present the results of the analysis of the institutional mechanism, organized at the Djeuga Hotel and bringing together the main stakeholders (sectoral ministries, focal points, etc.), civil society organizations and the private sector.

17 juin 2021
Appui au renforcement des capacités dans le suivi et la mise en œuvre de la Contribution Déterminée au niveau National au Cameroun

Situé en Afrique Centrale, le Cameroun bénéficie d’une grande richesse en ressources naturelles grâce à une importante diversité agro-climatique, allant des grandes zones forestières du sud aux zones sahéliennes très arides près de la frontière Tchadienne. Surnommé « l’Afrique en miniature »1 en raison de cette grande diversité, le Cameroun ne fait pas exception et subit actuellement les effets néfastes du changement climatique : montée du niveau des eaux, sécheresse, tempêtes, inondations et pluies diluviennes… 

 

Le gouvernement du Cameroun s’est engagé à soutenir les efforts de lutte contre le changement climatique dans ses stratégies nationales de développement. En 2016, dans le cadre de l’Accord de Paris, le Cameroun s’est engagé à réduire de 32% son empreinte carbone à l’horizon 2035 et a élaboré sa Contribution Déterminée au niveau Nationale (CDN). En 2020, le Cameroun a formulé sa Stratégie nationale de développement 2020-2030 (SND30) qui entend intégrer davantage les préoccupations liées aux changements climatiques dans les stratégies et politiques sectorielles. 

 

La gouvernance institutionnelle étant essentielle pour permettre la bonne réalisation des initiatives et stratégies climat, l’un des principaux enjeux pour assurer la mise en œuvre effective de la CDN est donc d’harmoniser et de renforcer le dispositif institutionnel national de mise en œuvre en clarifiant les rôles et responsabilités de chaque instance et en mettant en cohérence les différentes initiatives. 

 

C’est dans ce but qu’Expertise France a recruté le consortium Kinomé-Baastel dans le cadre de la facilité Adapt’Action lancée en 2017 à travers laquelle l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD) et Expertise France accompagnent 15 pays et organisations régionales particulièrement vulnérables aux impacts du dérèglement climatique dans la mise en œuvre de leurs stratégies d’adaptation. 

 

Dans la première phase de cet accompagnement, Kinomé-Baastel a conduit une série d’entretiens auprès des parties prenantes du cadre national de concertation sur les changements climatiques (cadres ministériels, points focaux, centres de recherche, organisations de la société civile…) afin de produire un « Rapport d’identification des forces, faiblesses, opportunités et menaces du dispositif institutionnel existant et des recommandations pour le suivi des processus climat ».  Ce document présente une analyse SWOT (des forces, faiblesses, opportunités et menaces) du dispositif institutionnel et propose des recommandations pour le suivi des processus climat.  

 

Les résultats présentés dans ce rapport nécessitent d’être discutés et validés par les parties-prenantes concernées et les partenaires techniques et financiers. Le 9 juin, Damien Kuhn, responsable des opérations internationales chez Kinomé, s’est donc rendu au Cameroun afin de (i) présenter, en équipe avec les consultants nationaux, le rapport d’analyse du dispositif institutionnel existant et les recommandations qui ont été faites en lien pour améliorer le suivi des processus climat et de (ii) discuter et enrichir l’analyse du cadre et les recommandations pour améliorer les processus climat par les parties prenantes. 

 

Cet atelier regroupant une cinquantaine de personnes (ministères sectoriels, points focaux, organisation de la société civile, PTF…) a permis d’enrichir l’analyse du cadre institutionnel et de clarifier les rôles de chaque parties prenante. Cet atelier sera, dès la semaine prochaine, enrichi par des réunions de co-construction afin que l’équipe de consultants puisse proposer un dispositif institutionnel pour le suivi et la mise en œuvre des CDN cohérent et harmonisé, précisant le rôle et les responsabilités de chaque partie prenante, ainsi que les modalités de fonctionnement interinstitutionnelCette proposition de dispositif institutionnel sera ensuite présentée lors d’un atelier de validation à l’attention d’Expertise France et des principales parties prenantes. 

 

@Kinomé 2021 : Yaoundé, Cameroun

@Kinomé 2021 : atelier de présentation des résultats de l’analyse du dispositif institutionnel, organisé à l’hôtel Djeuga et réunissant les principales parties prenantes (ministères sectoriels, points focaux…), les Organisations de la Société Civile et le secteur privé