20 December 2021
Training for mainstreaming climate change adaptation in Niger

Training for mainstreaming climate change adaptation in Niger

Niger is currently benefiting from funding from the Green Climate Fund to strengthen its national capacities to take into account climate change issues in the planning and budgeting processes. In this context, Kinomé was mandated by the UNDP to assess the capacity building needs of actors from institutions in charge of adaptation to climate change in the country (administrations, training institutions, civil society…).

At the beginning of May, trainers from the Kinomé – SalvaTerra consortium led workshops in Niamey, Niger to determine both the current level of knowledge on climate change adaptation of the actors concerned, and their desired level of competence, with the aim of developing an action plan to meet these expectations.

Based on the data collected, three training programmes were developed:

  • A short-term programme for public administration and civil society organisations;
  • A short-term programme for training institutes;
  • A long-term programme to integrate climate change adaptation into the curricula of training institutes.

After a collective validation of the programmes by all the actors concerned, the training courses were deployed by Kinomé and SalvaTerra trainers at the end of October in Niamey.  The twenty-five learners were thus trained in a certain number of priority notions within the framework of their professional activity: basic notions of climate change, the conduct of vulnerability studies, the development of adaptation plans, an introduction to the financing of adaptation…

Although rich in content, the balance between theoretical presentations and practical exercises in small groups allowed the learners to assimilate the lessons taught. Their participation was constant through the question and answer sessions and the planned collective feedback, but also through the organisation of a highly appreciated Climate Fresco. The inclusive dimension of the training, from its design to its deployment, was a key factor in the success, confirmed by the enthusiasm of the participants and the progressive and notable awareness of the decision-makers on the challenges of climate change.

The collective wish expressed to benefit from longer training courses in the future demonstrates the adequacy between this exercise and the strong expectations of planning and training professionals in terms of increasing their competence on the challenges of adaptation to climate change. Several recommendations were made by the consortium to the funders and financial backers of these future training courses in order to increase their impact (widening the audience of learners, follow-up actions, innovations in the format of the courses, etc.).

 

  • Photo 1: Photo taken by Kinomé – Creation of the Climate Fresco
  • Photo caption 2: Photo taken by Kinomé – Training for module 4 “Tools and skills for climate action”

20 décembre 2021
Formation pour l’intégration de l’adaptation au changement climatique au Niger

Le Niger bénéficie actuellement d’un financement du Fonds Vert pour le Climat afin de renforcer ses capacités nationales à prendre en compte les enjeux du changement climatique dans les processus de planification et de budgétisation. Dans ce cadre, Kinomé a été mandaté par le PNUD afin d’évaluer sur place les besoins en renforcement de capacités des acteurs issus des institutions en charge de l’adaptation au changement climatique du pays (administrations, institutions de formation, société civile…).

Début mai, les formateurs du consortium Kinomé – SalvaTerra ont animé des ateliers à Niamey, Niger afin de déterminer à la fois le niveau actuel des connaissances sur l’adaptation au changement climatique des cadres concernés, mais aussi leur niveau de compétence souhaité, dans le but d’élaborer un plan d’action pour répondre à ces attentes.

Sur la base des informations collectées, trois programmes de formation ont été développés :

  • Un programme court terme à destination des cadres de l’administration publique et des organisations de la société civile ;
  • Un programme court terme à destination des instituts de formation ;
  • Un programme long terme permettant d’intégrer l’adaptation au changement climatique dans les curricula de formation des instituts de formation.

Après une validation collective des programmes par tous les acteurs concernés, les formations ont été déployées par les formateurs de Kinomé et de SalvaTerra fin octobre à Niamey.  Les vingt-cinq apprenants ont ainsi pu être formés à un certain nombre de notions prioritaires dans le cadre de leur activité professionnelle :  rappel des notions de base du changement climatique, déroulement des études de vulnérabilité, élaboration des plan d’adaptation, introduction au financement de l’adaptation…

Bien que riche en contenu, l’équilibre entre présentations théoriques et exercices pratiques en petits groupes a permis aux apprenants d’assimiler et de s’approprier les enseignements dispensés. Leur participation a été constante au travers des temps de questions-réponse et des restitutions collectives prévues, mais aussi via l’organisation d’une Fresque du Climat très appréciée. La dimension inclusive de la formation, de son design à son déploiement, a été un facteur-clé du succès de la formation, confirmé par l’enthousiasme des participants et la prise de conscience progressive et notable des décideurs sur les enjeux du changement climatique.

Le souhait collectivement exprimé de bénéficier de formations plus longues à l’avenir démontre l’adéquation entre cet exercice et les attentes fortes des professionnels de la planification et de la formation en matière de montée en compétence sur les enjeux d’adaptation au changement climatique. Plusieurs recommandations ont été formulées par le consortium à l’encontre des financeurs et bailleurs de ces futures formations afin d’en démultiplier l’impact (élargissement du public des apprenants, actions de suivi à mettre en place, innovations dans le format des enseignements, etc.).

  • Légende photo 1 : photo prise par Kinomé – Réalisation de la fresque du Climat
  • Légende photo 2 : photo prise par Kinomé – Formation au module 4 « Outils et savoir-être pour l’action climatique »