13 December 2019
KINOMÉ AND THE CLIMATE – EPISODE 3

Climate change requires local responses, but inevitably requires national strategies and planning. COP 25, which began on Monday 2 December in Madrid, seeks to raise the ambition of the commitments made by the signatory states of the Paris Accord.

In line with this dynamic, Kinomé, via AFD’s Adapt’Action Facility, is supporting the Government of Côte d’Ivoire in its process of reviewing its priorities to address the impacts of climate change in response to the country’s commitment to the Paris Agreements. The work resulted in a proposal of sectors to be prioritized and concrete actions to be implemented for Côte d’Ivoire’s adaptation to climate change.

Kinomé is also advising the governments of Ghana and Côte d’Ivoire with the World Bank’s Cobobod project. This involves participating in the elaboration of a support fund for the rehabilitation of old orchards and the fight against the swollen shoot virus. This renewal of orchards is an opportunity to introduce innovative models that are more resilient to extreme temperatures.

13 décembre 2019
Kinomé et le climat – épisode 3

Le changement climatique nécessite des réponses locales, mais passe inévitablement par la mise en place de stratégies et planifications à l’échelle nationale. La COP 25 débutée le lundi 2 décembre à Madrid, cherche à relever l’ambition des engagements pris par les États signataires de l’Accord de Paris.

Suivant cette dynamique, Kinomé, via la Facilité Adapt’Action de l’AFD, accompagne le Gouvernement de Côte d’Ivoire dans son processus de révision de ses priorités pour faire face aux impacts du changement climatique, en réponse à l’engagement du pays aux Accords de Paris. Le travail a abouti à une proposition des secteurs à prioriser et des actions concrètes à mettre en œuvre pour l’adaptation de la Côte d’Ivoire au changement climatique. 

Kinomé conseille également les gouvernements du Ghana et de Côte d’Ivoire avec le projet Cobobod de la Banque Mondiale. Il s’agit de participer à l’élaboration d’un fonds d’appui à la réhabilitation des vieux vergers et à la lutte contre le virus du swollen shoot. Ce renouvellement des vergers est l’occasion d’introduire des modèles innovants, plus résilients face aux température extrêmes.