14 April 2020
Moringa and immunity

Dr. Véronique Chabernaud, Founder and Director of Créer la Vitalité, and partner of Kinomé
www.creerlavitalite.com

Moringa Oleifera is a tree that has both nutritional and medicinal properties. It is an amazing plant in which most parts have nutritional value (leaves, fruit, seeds, roots, bark).

Moringa leaves are an excellent source of proteins, calcium, iron, zinc, selenium, vitamin A, vitamin E, vitain C, methionine and cysteine (essential amino acids). 100g Moringa leaves provide as many proteins as one egg, as much calcium as one milk glass, as much iron as 200g beef, as much Vit A as a carrot and as much Vit C as one orange[1].

Moringa can be eaten as fresh leaves in the countries where it grows easily (tropical and sub-tropical areas), but it can be used as dried leaves in other places, as a tea or added to regular meals. Powder, even though it has lost some vitamins, is still a rich nutrient as it is a leaf concentrate.

Beyond its nutritional value, Moringa also posseses biological and medicinal properties. It has antibacterial[2] and anti-inflammatory[3] activity as well as beneficial effects on the immunological status[4] that might be due to a decrease in oxidative stress linked to Vit A, C, E, and to an increase in natural resistance mechanisms due to protein, zinc and selenium content of the leaves. It is also well known that an increased nutritional status has a direct impact on the immunological status.

In this period of severe epidemic, all means that can help boost our immunological system are more than welcome. It starts with a diet rich in fresh nutrients (fruits, vegetables), physical activity, basics to which some complements, Vitamin C, trace elements (Silver, Copper, Zinc) and plants (Echinacea, Ginseng, Eleuthérocoque and Moringa) can be added.

Moringa is therefore a very valuable nutrient that fully belongs to our battery of tools helping our immunological system, both through its nutritional value and through a direct immunological effect. It is also an interesting new and delicious addition to our diet, be it as fresh leaves from the garden or as powder!


[1] Produire et transformer les feuilles de moringa ; Moringanews ; Dr Armelle de Saint Sauveur et Dr Mélanie Broin ; Mai 2010

[2] Suarez M. et al. Structure-Function Characterization and Optimization of a Plant-Derived Antibacterial Peptide; AAntimicrobial agents and chemotherapy, Sept. 2005, p. 3847–3857

[3] K.V. Sashidhara, J.N. Rosaiah, E. Tyagi, R. Shukla, R. Raghubir, S.M. Rajendran. Rare dipeptide and urea derivatives from roots of Moringa oleifera as potential anti-inflammatory and antinociceptive agents, European Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (2008)

[4] Tété-Bénissan et al; Journal of Animal &Plant Sciences, 2012. Vol.15, Issue 2: 2184-2199; Récupération nutritionnelle chez les sujets malnutris VIH positifs et VIH négatifs après utilisation de feuilles de Moringa oleifera Lam

14 avril 2020
Une meilleure immunité avec le Moringa

Dr. Véronique Chabernaud, Fondatrice et Directrice de Créer la Vitalité, et partenaire de Kinomé
www.creerlavitalite.com

Le Moringa Oleifera est un arbre aux propriétés nutritionnelles et médicinales. C’est une plante remarquable dont la plupart des parties possèdent des valeurs nutritionnelles (feuilles, fruits, graines, racines, écorce).

Les feuilles de Moringa sont une excellente source de protéines, calcium, sélénium, vitamines A, E et C, méthionine et cystéine (acides aminées essentiels). 100 g de feuilles de Moringa fournissent autant de protéines qu’un œuf, autant de calcium qu’un verre de lait, autant de fer que 200g de viande de bœuf, autant de vitamine A qu’une carotte et autant de vitamine C qu’une orange[1].

Il est possible de consommer le Moringa sous forme de feuilles fraiches dans les pays où il pousse facilement (régions tropicales et subtropicales), mais elles peuvent être séchées dans d’autres endroits, et consommées en thé ou ajouté aux repas habituels. La poudre, même si elle a perdu certaines de ses vitamines, reste riche en nutriments car il s’agit d’un concentré de feuilles. 

Au-delà de ses valeurs nutritionnelles, le Moringa possède aussi des propriété biologiques et médicinales. Il a une action antibactérienne[2] et anti-inflammatoire[3], de même que des effets positifs sur l’état immunologique[4]  qui pourraient être dus à la baisse de stress oxydatif lié aux vitamines A, C, E, et à l’augmentation des mécanismes naturels de résistance liée au contenu en protéines, zinc et sélénium des feuilles. Il est aussi établi que l’amélioration de l’état nutritionnel a un impact direct sur l’état immunologique.

En cette période de pandémie grave, tous les moyens permettant de renforcer notre système immunitaire sont plus que bienvenus. Cela commence par une alimentation riche en nutriments frais (fruits, légumes) et une activité physique, base à laquelle il est possible d’ajouter des compléments : vitamine C, oligo-éléments (Argent, Cuivre, Zinc) et plantes (Échinacée, Ginseng, Éleuthérocoque et Moringa).

Le Moringa est donc une source précieuse en nutriments qui fait entièrement partie de notre panel d’outils soutenant notre système immunitaire, à la fois de par ses valeurs nutritionnelles et de par son effet immunitaire direct. C’est aussi un ajout à notre alimentation intéressant et inédit, que ce soit sous forme de feuilles fraiches ou de poudre !


[1] Produire et transformer les feuilles de moringa ; Moringanews ; Dr Armelle de Saint Sauveur et Dr Mélanie Broin ; Mai 2010

[2] Suarez M. et al. Structure-Function Characterization and Optimization of a Plant-Derived Antibacterial Peptide; AAntimicrobial agents and chemotherapy, Sept. 2005, p. 3847–3857

[3] K.V. Sashidhara, J.N. Rosaiah, E. Tyagi, R. Shukla, R. Raghubir, S.M. Rajendran. Rare dipeptide and urea derivatives from roots of Moringa oleifera as potential anti-inflammatory and antinociceptive agents, European Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (2008)

[4] Tété-Bénissan et al; Journal of Animal &Plant Sciences, 2012. Vol.15, Issue 2: 2184-2199; Récupération nutritionnelle chez les sujets malnutris VIH positifs et VIH négatifs après utilisation de feuilles de Moringa oleifera Lam